Info

Obsess Over Everything

 

 

 

These are all pieces of work that I made this past summer.  I’ve always had this gigantically huge fascination with glass domes and the specimens inside.  Kind of makes me think of those labs in the movies that the old explorers had.  Collections and displays of all the treasures and objects collected over time… all on display.  These are a little darker than that.  They represent something more sinister: a biological moment frozen in time.  Hope you like them!  All of these are still in my possession and are for sale if interested!

Media:  Most of these are made with bones (that I found).  Hey, apparently in Wyoming it’s a common thing to be walking and find some animal’s entire in-tact skeleton.  Being the unique person that I am, I naturally went on an expedition for three days collecting as many as possible.  It’s led me to make all of these lovely pieces that I’m so fond of.  Making them is something really special because I’m handing the bone, an organic material, with my anatomical papercutouts, the fictitious organic.  After I make a cutout (by hand!  no lasers for me) I usually burn the edges. Then, I dip each piece in beeswax.  From there, the pieces get added together with wax, wires, and in this case cotton.
_DSC0448 _DSC0454 Papercut Sculpture DomeGlass Pieces with Bones and Handcut Paper _DSC0371 _DSC0367 _DSC0368 _DSC0369 _DSC0370

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. December 19, 2013

    Beautiful display! (not quite ready for the hair though lol) The vertebrae/bones look beautiful!
    AurumEve.com ~Global Jewelry

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS