Info

Obsess Over Everything

Gianna Paniagua Oranges SetupGianna Paniagua Oranges SetupGianna Paniagua OrangesGianna Paniagua Oranges_DSC0197Gianna Paniagua Oranges_DSC0212_DSC0230

 

Ok, so for a while I’ve been going pattern crazy with oranges, bananas, palm trees, and other tropical themed guys.  I’ve also gone a little nuts making tons of little milagro hands and legs.  Besides making them into little sculptures, I wanted to push them out on the world.  Most of the images that I print are heavily influenced by Miami and Cuban culture. Living in Pittsburgh, I’m in an environment that is the total opposite of my work.  One day when it was snowing I went out and pasted my little oranges onto a fence by my house in Lawrenceville.  Everything around me is so gritty, industrial, and absolutely beautiful.  I wanted to place my printed guys in the wrong kind of environment, make them seem more out of place.  I’ll be going around this week and posting more around town.

Now, I just want to say that these are not permanently installed.  I put them up with some tape, take a photo, and then take them down right after.  Don’t worry- I’m not tearing up public property with tiny oranges.  But, I would love to get these installed anywhere in the city permanently and I’m hoping that’s the next step.

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS