Info

Obsess Over Everything

 

I’ve had this idea brewing in my head for some time and it just had to get out.  I definitely want to make two of these pieces, one that’s 10 x 10 and another that’s 20 x 20.  But they’re little cutout guys that resemble vaginas or those things that grow on trees in the rainforest.  Either way, it resembles something organic.  I’ve been trying to work on a smaller scale as compared to my larger installation work.  It’s far more time consuming since I want to get every single cut just right and not have frayed edges.  _DSC0602 _DSC0605

_DSC0607

I started using turmeric as pigment.  It’s really the only color I’ve introduced so far to my pieces that I aim to show.  I may grind up some wheat or cinnamon, but turmeric has a special meaning for me.  I drink it in milk or eat it in paste form to bring down inflammation on my foot when it flares up.  I do notice a difference, and try to eat it as often as I can for health reasons.  Because of that, I wanted to introduce it into my work.  It gives an amazing golden color and a hint of scent if you get close.  _DSC0609 _DSC0614 _DSC0615

_DSC0617

All of these little baby cutouts were used too.  It’s a lot of detail, but they make everything come together.  _DSC0619 _DSC0621 _DSC0622 _DSC0612

Comments

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. March 6, 2014

    Giana! Your work is so beautiful! you’ve inspired me to work on some paper cuts as well, though I’m working with tons of color. Keep up the amazing work, can’t wait to see what’s next.

    • March 6, 2014

      Thanks so much! Paper holds so much potential, and papercutting doesn’t just have to be 2D. I’ll post more experiments soon 🙂

  2. March 18, 2014

    Funny and inspiring! And food as a pigment! Very cool.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS