Info

Obsess Over Everything

Lately I’ve been experimenting with some new ideas.  Well really, these are ideas that have been brewing in my brain for some time and need to just get out.  So, here they are, out in the open, and looking for a direction to go in.  These little triangle guys are a particular favorite of mine but I’m not sure where I want it to go.  I’ve covered them in wax, burnt them and here they are dyed with ink.  I’ve dyed them with turmeric which I love, but I’m not sure if I like the wax.  They look so much more delicate and like coral which is the inspiration.  _DSC0643

I’m doing a show at Hat Rac Gallery in Oakland in a bit and am thinking of doing an installation with these little guys.  They won’t be little, of course.  They have this great front window that has so much space and light that I have to go crazy with whatever I put there.  Looks like a lot of cutting in the future… _DSC0645 _DSC0650This little white situation here is a kind of collage.  It’s a rice paper cutout on top of BFK paper.  I like keeping the pencil lines in there.  Even though I won’t be using this piece for anything, I just wanted to try it out.  I would love to be able to use a press to roll it through and make an even, clean pressing.

 

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS