Info

Obsess Over Everything

It’s been ages since my last post.  But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been working on some things!  At the beginning of January, I came out to Oakland, CA so that I could start my time as an artist in residence at the Kala Institute in Berkeley!  The Greater Pittsburgh Arts Council awarded me a grant that helped me to finally follow one of my passions that I sometimes forget: printmaking.

So, from January to February I will be doing a whole lot of etching (on copper plates) and maybe some screenprinting.  All my extra time will be devoted to prepping for an upcoming Solo Show at 707 Gallery in downtown Pittsburgh and exploring the Bay Area.

 

What have I made so far?  A few prints and many more tests and experiments with paper!  I’ve been printing on sheets of rice paper (not pictured) and different thicknesses and it’s going surprisingly well.  These images shown are my interpretations of my cutouts into two dimensional prints.  Next step is to incorporate papercutting!  There’s a little shop in Japantown in San Francisco that sells all kinds of rice papers and I think that’s where I’ll begin my papercutting experiments.  _DSC0318_DSC0328 _DSC0325_DSC0330 _DSC0331 _DSC0335 _DSC0337 _DSC0341 _DSC0344 _DSC0347 _DSC0348 _DSC0351 _DSC0353 Wood

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. Nancy P Genero #
    February 11, 2015

    Very cool. Happy to hear your work is going so well! Xoxo

  2. February 12, 2015

    I miss printmaking so much! I was in UCL’s etching/screenprinting studio the other day by chance and was reminded of how much I love it and how much I want to do it again. Really nice how some of those tissuey looking prints are coming out.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS